Stages of School Education in India

Stages of School Education in India

Stages of School Education in India

Every parent is worried about the education of their child and wants the best thing to happen in the life of their child with respect to education. Some decades ago, the education of a child is something that is associated just with learning how to read and write. But, nowadays, education is more than this and it involves grooming of the kid, developing his knowledge, exposing him to a wide range of ideas and introducing him to the environment around him.

Questions striking:

When it comes to education of child, many parents in India get certain questions in mind and here are the most common questions parents have:

  • What is the age for a child to go to school in India?
  • What is the age limit to get admission to primary or pre-primary school?
  • When do school admissions begin?

Understanding the different stages of education in India, will help parents in getting an idea:

Different stages of schooling in India:

  1. Pre-Primary:

This stage is actually the foundation for the knowledge of any kid, his behavior and skills. On completion of pre-primary stage, the child will be moving to primary stage, which is the first stage of compulsory education in India. It enables the kids to get prepared for future higher classes and when talking about pre-primary stage, it encompasses preparatory class called pre-nursery, nursery, LKG and UKG. The final two are called as Kindergarten or KG stage.

What do children do at play schools?

At play schools, kids are exposed to a wide range of fundamental pre-school learning activities that will act as foundation for them to be independent individuals at a faster pace. In addition, at this stage, kids are taught many self-help practices like eating themselves, dressing up, maintaining cleanliness and many other fundamental qualities. In every school system, the pre-primary education has an important role to play, even though, the primary education in the country is not the fundamental right of every child. When it comes to the right age to admit kids to nursery level, it is two and half years to three and half years. When it comes to suitable age for LKG, it is three and half to four and half years and in the case of UKG, it is four and half to five and half.

  1. Primary Stage:

Class I to V constitutes the primary stage and this stage should be completed by students in 5 years in 10 states and union territories in the country. In the case of some states, the primary stage constitutes classes I to IV and the states include Daman and Diu, Mahe region of Pondicherry, Lakshadweep, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Nagaland, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Maharashtra, Kerala, Karnataka, Gujarat, Goa and Assam.

When it comes to age limit for primary stage, in the case of class I, it is five years and six months to six years and six months and increases by one year for each class. This means that the enrolment in class I starts in the age of 6 years and continues until 14 years of age. When it comes to facilities in the primary mode of education, it is ensured by the Elementary Education Mission of the country. The structure of primary school is preceded by the pre-primary education and it is followed by secondary education. Some of the subjects taught at the primary school level include mathematics, history, geography, science and other social sciences.

  1. Middle stage:

When talking about middle stage of education in the country, it encompasses Classes 6 to 8 in nearly 18 states and union territories. But classes 5 to 7 in the states and union territories that consider only up to class 4 are primary stage as mentioned earlier. In Nagaland alone class 5 to 8 constitute the upper primary stage.

  1. Secondary stage:

The secondary stage, which is otherwise called as high school encompasses classes 9 and 10 in 19 states and union territories in India and it encompasses classes 8-10 in 13 states mentioned earlier. Subjects taught at the secondary stage encompasses English, regional language of the particular state, social science, science and mathematics.

  1. Senior secondary stage:

The higher secondary or senior secondary stage of school encompasses classes 11 and 12 (10+2 pattern) in most of the states and UTs. However, in some states and UTs, these classes are attached to universities/colleges and are referred to as junior college stage. In the case of senior secondary stage, students have the option to choose their subject based on their interests. They can choose science stream, commerce or arts stream on the basis of their interests.